New beginnings and new stresses

I haven’t been on here in over a week. Its been kinda crazy starting college and all. But today I felt like I needed to write about something. This is something similar to my last post but it’s been bothering me a great deal this week.

For those of you that do not know, I was in a very rigorous program in high school called International Baccalaureate (I.B. for short). So during high school I took college level courses and attained an I.B. diploma as well as a high school one. I say all of this to say that in high school I endured more than most, academically, and emotionally. And now that I am in college I am stressing just as much in high school. So today I had to take a step back and understand that while I do have a lot on my plate, I survived high school. I survived my family being ripped apart, I survived I.B., I survived losing a lot of friends, and I survived being very sick while balancing school, soccer, and multiple clubs.

I can do this. I can balance work and being a soccer manager. I can balance being in the honors program and creating my own service organization. I can balance school work and a social life.

Starting something new means a change. And I don’t know about you, but change scares me. I am a person who likes routine and I like having a schedule. So with this being my first week of college I don’t really have a routine yet. I had a mini panic attack wondering how will I do all of this but I took deep breath (and a nap) and I remembered that I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength. (Philippians 4:13).

New beginnings are good. Change is good, But you have to understand that it takes time to have a sense of normalcy. and when new challenges come your way, you have to remember what you have already been through. Put your hand over your heart; that heart beat right there, it means you survived Hell and you are still here. Life will always have hurdles you have to jump but many of you have survived the worst of it. You chose to remain on this earth when you felt like being alive was worse than death. You decided to keep going one more day. One day at a time you recovered or are still recovering.

Remember that change is good. Change is stressful. But take a deep breath and step back and look at how far you have already come. Maybe you are still sick, or still hurting, (I know I am), and if that is you please reach out to someone. Contact me or the school counselor or a friend or trusted adult. I felt like I had nowhere to go and no one to turn to but then I did. The key is to keep going. I had to keep going to find those trusted people. The key is to give it one more day. Sometimes one day at a time is too much. So, if it is, just take it one hour at a time. Give yourself a chance, and do not let anyone tell you that you can’t do something. I defied the odds. I am still defying the odds. And I have your back.

Love yourself, trust yourself. You can do it. You can do ALL things,

Leave a Reply

